Sunday, February 8, 2009

HOLIDAYS

I am at home right enjoying the holidays after riviera . we had a great time at riviera 09 enjoying the whole programme with full enthusiasm . will keep blogging in the coming weeks

Riviera 09

one of the most happiest moments in my life was Riviera 09 . I enjoyed to the core during the complete four days. I was a busybee right from the starting of the programme since i was a volunteer in the shuttle tournament( my favorite indoor game ). Six of my friends were also assigned this volunteering job. they were Robin, Akshay, Akhil, Anand Thampi, Abin, Jerry(though he rarely came). actally i didn't even register my name for the volunteers. by luck i got this oppurtunity. on the first day (30th jan) by morning 6:30 we all had to assemble in the riviera control room to get our volunteer tags. from there we had to go to the main gate . From there a bus pcked us and took us to a place from where we had to run a marathon ( which was hardly 400 metres) upto GREENO inside our campus. shirts were provided and the crowd erupted like hell . was lucky enough to get a shirt though. The inaugural ceremony took place at GREENO. We had to go to the indoor stadium where the tournament was going to be held. Teams started to arrive . we were awed by seeing some of the players itself and prayed that the VIT Team could atleast manage a position among these teams. luckily many walkovers were there in the women's section as well as quite a few in the men's. we had to call the teams and request them to come to the stadium to play their respective matches. To get the contacts we had to rush to the main building . i enjoyed the work but sadly had to lose my phone balance calling these many teams , but that's ok. VIT Men's team didn't have a match that day. they just warmed up a little bit. the event was scheduled to start at six o' clock but didn't start before 10 am. the last match of the day was of the vit women's team and it was just a stroll in the park for them . they simply dominated their lesser-known opponents. finally the first day's work was over by 5 pm. sadly we had to miss our breakfast and also we missed the lunch food coupon and had to eat from the mess . the pro shows was scheduled to be held at 6 pm but our seniors told it won't start until 7:30 pm. since it was our first riviera we were very much excited. when we went to the ground we saw a huge crowd over there but still managed to get in front ( but that was the biggest mistake that we did). people at the back were just pushing and since we were in the middle we got totally jammed. we survived and just got through but there was another gate waiting for us . again we were jammed . the crowd was just pushing . we knew that if we stay in the line we will surely die in the queue . there could have been a stampede. i fell down but luckily was not hurt. one of my frnds whose name whose name is also Nikhil fell down and had breathing problems. we were completely shocked . luckily he was not serious. some of my frnds had broken their specs and some lost their shoes. luckily no one was seriously hurt. we thanked God that we were all alive. The pro shows started with the Raghu Dixit Project. he was basically a folk singer and we were not able to follow his songs. But the best was reserved for the last . It was the duo of Vishal-Shekhar that rocked VIT that night. Vishal's remark that VIT girls were f****** gorgeous is still in everyone's mouth. with their peppy numbers like desi girl, dard-e-disco etc they simply got us into the mood. we danced non-stop for three & half hours and thoroughlly enjoyed the programme . the pro- shows were over by 12 o'clock and we reached our hostel around 12:30 or 1:00 and dozed off . that's all for the first day , rest of the days to be told in the coming posts......